Question

FlyHigh Tech, an early-stage startup, reports to its investors using a balanced scorecard that is prepared at the end of each quarter. During the first and second quarters of the current year, the company had the following results:

Quarter 1 Quarter 2
During the quarter:
Revenue $ 150,000 $ 180,000
Cost of goods sold 100,000 125,000
Sales and marketing costs 50,000 63,000
General and administrative costs 100,000 110,000
Total market revenue 5,000,000 4,500,000
At the end of the quarter:
Cash $ 2,750,000 $ 2,450,000
Number of revenue-generating customers 6,000 7,500
Number of employees 10 15


The following additional information is available:

  • All jobs were filled as of the end of each quarter, and during the second quarter of the year FlyHigh hired seven new employees.
  • Ten percent of customers from quarter one were lost during the second quarter, however the company increased sales and marketing expenditures by over 20 percent, resulting in a net gain in customers for the quarter.


Required:
Compute the following measures that are included in FlyHigh Tech’s second quarter balanced scorecard: (Round "Cash runway" answer to 1 decimal place.)

Required: Compute the following measures that are included in FlyHigh Techs second quarter balanced Scorecard: (Round Cash

0 0
Add a comment Improve this question Transcribed image text
Answer #1

Cash burn rate = [ Starting  cash balance - ending  cash balance ] / Number of months

Cash burn rate = [ $ 2,750,000 - $ 2,450,000] / 3 = $ 100,000

Cash runway = Total cash reserve / Burn rate = $ 2,450,000/ $ 100,000 = 24.5 months

Churn rate = customers lost during 2nd quarter / [ Customers at the beginning + new customers during the period ]

Churn rate = 6,000 X 10%/ [ 6,000 + 1,500] = 0.08 or 8% ( i.e 0.08 X 100%)

Churn rate = 6,000 X 10% / [{6,000 - 600 }+ 2,100] = 0.08 or 8%

Market shares = [ firms sales / Total market revenues ] X 100%

Market shares = [$ 180,000/ $ 4,500,000] X 100% = 4%

Customer acquired cost = cost developed to acquire new customers / number of new customers

Customer acquisition cost per customer = [$ 63,000 - $ 50,000 ] / 7,500 - ( 6,000 - 600)

Customer acquisition cost per customer = $ 13,000 / 2,100 = $ 6.19

Employee turn over rate = [Employees who left / average employees ] X 100%

Employees left = Beginning no of employees + new recruited employees - ending no of employees

Employees left = 10 + 7 - 15 = 2

Average employees = [10 + 15] / 2 = 12.5

Employee turn over ratio = [2/ 12.5] X 100% = 16%

Add a comment
Know the answer?
Add Answer to:
FlyHigh Tech, an early-stage startup, reports to its investors using a balanced scorecard that is prepared...
Your Answer:

Post as a guest

Your Name:

What's your source?

Earn Coins

Coins can be redeemed for fabulous gifts.

Not the answer you're looking for? Ask your own homework help question. Our experts will answer your question WITHIN MINUTES for Free.
Similar Homework Help Questions
  • Cardinal Corporation is preparing its balanced scorecard for the past quarter. The balanced scorecard contains four​...

    Cardinal Corporation is preparing its balanced scorecard for the past quarter. The balanced scorecard contains four​ perspectives: financial,​ customer, internal business​ process, and learning and growth.    Cardinal Corporation Balanced Scorecard Report For Quarter Ended December 31 Perspective: Goal Objective KPI Goal Actual Achieved? Financial: Customer: Through its strategic management planning​ process, CardinalCardinal Corporation has selected two specific objectives for each of the four​ perspectives; these specific objectives are listed in the following table. Specific Objective 1. Increase sales of...

  • EXERCISE 10-7 Creating a Balanced Scorecard LO10-4 Ariel Tax Services prepares tax returns for individual and corporat...

    EXERCISE 10-7 Creating a Balanced Scorecard LO10-4 Ariel Tax Services prepares tax returns for individual and corporate clients. As the company has gradually expanded to 10 offices, the founder Max Jacobs has begun to feel as though he is losing control of operations. In response to this concern, he has decided to implement a performance measurement system that will help control current operations and facilitate his plans of expanding to 20 offices. Jacobs describes the keys to the success of...

  • True Coop Community Bank – A Balanced Scorecard Case True Coop Community Bank (TCCB) is located...

    True Coop Community Bank – A Balanced Scorecard Case True Coop Community Bank (TCCB) is located in the Midwest US and has a total of 10 branches grouped into two divisions, the southern division (SD) and the northern division (ND). Each division consists of five branches; each branch employs a branch president, branch vice-president/chief loan officer, customer service representatives, loan representatives, mortgage loan originators, head tellers, tellers, and administrative assistants. All branches are located within a 60-mile radius. TCCB has...

  • #50 Aigna Tech a rapidy growng estributor of electronic components, formdating its plans for 20ss...

    #50 Aigna Tech a rapidy growng estributor of electronic components, formdating its plans for 20ss Cerol Jones the fam's marketing director, has completed the following sales rebruary April 1s, 000 Phillip Smith, an accountant in the Planning and Budgeting Department, is responsible for preparing the cash flow projectsion. The following information will be used in preparing the cash flow projection. Alpha-Tech's excellent record in accountsarcevable collection is expected to c month after the sale, and the remaining 40 percent two...

  • Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones,...

    Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones, the firm’s marketing director, has completed the following sales forecast. ALPHA-TECH 20x5 Forecasted Sales (in thousands) Month Sales January $ 10,000 February 11,000 March 10,000 April 12,500 May 13,500 June 15,000 July 16,000 August 16,000 September 17,000 October 17,000 November 16,000 December 18,000 Phillip Smith, an accountant in the Planning and Budgeting Department, is responsible for preparing the cash flow projection. The following information...

  • Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones,...

    Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones, the firm’s marketing director, has completed the following sales forecast. ALPHA-TECH 20x5 Forecasted Sales (in thousands) Month Sales January $ 9,000 February 10,000 March 9,000 April 11,500 May 12,500 June 14,000 July 15,000 August 15,000 September 16,000 October 16,000 November 15,000 December 17,000 Phillip Smith, an accountant in the Planning and Budgeting Department, is responsible for preparing the cash flow projection. The following information...

  • Scorecard Measures, Strategy Translation At the end of 20x1, Mejorar Company implemented a low-cost strategy to...

    Scorecard Measures, Strategy Translation At the end of 20x1, Mejorar Company implemented a low-cost strategy to improve its competitive position. Its objective was to become the low-cost producer in its industry. A Balanced Scorecard was developed to guide the company toward this objective. To lower costs, Mejorar undertook a number of improvement activities such as JIT production, total quality management, and activity-based management. Now, after two years of operation, the president of Mejorar wants some assessment of the achievements. To...

  • Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones,...

    Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones, the firm's marketing director, has completed the following sales forecast. ALPHA-TECH 20x5 Forecasted Sales (in thousands) Month Sales January $10,500 February 11,500 March 10,500 April 13,000 May 14,000 June 15,500 July 16,500 August 16,500 September 17,500 October 17,500 November 16,500 December 18,500 Phillip Smith, an accountant in the Planning and Budgeting Department, is responsible for preparing the cash flow projection. The following information will...

  • Please complete tge customer numbers, income statment, balance sheet and statement of cash flows with tge...

    Please complete tge customer numbers, income statment, balance sheet and statement of cash flows with tge provided information Exercise: This is a common situation in the real world. Assume that you are an analyst covering a "recurring revenue" type firm. Recurring revenue firms typically earn revenues from customers over multiple periods. For instance, cable companies pay to acquire new customers, and the customers pay for services over a recurring time period. You will notice that this format is cost-driven, meaning...

  • Prepare a cash budget for Alpha-Tech by month for the second quarter of 20x5. For simplicity,...

    Prepare a cash budget for Alpha-Tech by month for the second quarter of 20x5. For simplicity, ignore any interest expense associated with borrowing. (Negative amounts should be indicated by a minus sign.) Alpha-Tech, a rapidly growing distributor of electronic components, is formulating its plans for 20x5. Carol Jones, the firm's marketing director, has completed the following sales forecast. ALPHA-TECH 20x5 Forecasted Sales (in thousands) Month Sales $ 9,000 January February 10,000 9,000 11,500 12,500 14,000 March April May June July...

ADVERTISEMENT
Free Homework Help App
Download From Google Play
Scan Your Homework
to Get Instant Free Answers
Need Online Homework Help?
Ask a Question
Get Answers For Free
Most questions answered within 3 hours.
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT